Artist: Ashes Of My Memory

Album Title: Raptures /// Disillusions

Label: Independent Release

Date of Release: 7 October 2018

When the band describe themselves as a melodic death metal/progressive metal band, I’m going to take a listen. And that’s exactly what Ashes Of My Memory did recently when alerting me to their recently-released debut EP, ‘Raptures /// Disillusions’. And you’ll have guessed by now, given the fact that I am reviewing the release, that I like what I hear.

Ashes Of My Memory are a quartet from South Tyrol in Italy and are comprised of bassist/vocalist Sebastian Kuen, guitarist/vocalist Michael Berger, guitarist Felix Niedermair and drummer Lukas Niederwolfsgruber.

Whilst the music has a heavy edge, the emphasis is certainly on the melodic aspect, with plenty of beautiful moments to be heard within the two tracks that run for a combined 16 minutes or so. The melodic intent is evident from the very beginning when a sensitive, almost post-rock, ambient-like melody emerges from behind a militaristic snare drum beat to introduce ‘The Cycle’.

After being lulled into a false sense of security for the first minute, in crashes a huge prog-leaning riff full of bruising intent. However, calming melodies are never far away and whilst the track maintains a heavy edge led by some gravelly gruff vocals, the pace slows, the abrasiveness subsides and we’re left with a track that has immediacy and subtlety. And then the clean vocal enters the fray. If I’m honest, I think I’d have preferred it had Ashes Of My Memory maintained the growled delivery because the clean voice hints at a metalcore/alt metal veneer that isn’t necessary in my opinion. Having said that, the clean-led chorus of sorts is undeniably catchy and cannot be totally derided.


The song delights in fluctuating between heavy soundscapes and softer, whimsical and beautiful ambient passages. It injects a certain storytelling into the track, not to mention dynamism and drama, especially within the almost euphoric final minute when the song concludes with real style and panache.

The second and final track is entitled ‘The Decline’ and whilst it begins in quiet fashion again, the tone is much darker. As the heavier guitars join in, the song gains a mid-tempo stomp that is delightfully powerful. The riffs are strong, the bass rumbles nicely whilst offering some understated flamboyance and the lead guitar overlays things with a lovely melody or two. Again, I’m not totally sold on the addition of the clean vocals, neither am I enamoured with the djent-like riff at the half-way point. However, I do like the death/doom feel of this composition, as well as the continued eagerness to mix up the tempos and tones to increase the impact of the song. The quieter sections are nicely constructed, whilst once again, the closing crescendo is a thing of real beauty and serenity, very uplifting.

It isn’t without its flaws – I’d slightly question the ‘death/prog’ tag and I’m not entirely convinced that the band know what their exact sound is yet – but ‘Raptures /// Disillusions’ nevertheless shows real promise from this Italian outfit. It’s just a shame that we only get two songs to explore because I’d definitely like to have heard more. Maybe next time. However, until that becomes a reality, have a listen to this EP and see what you think.

The Score of Much Metal: 7.5

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLT9Osa9tpw&w=560&h=315]

If you’ve enjoyed this review, you can check out my others from 2018 and from previous years right here:

2017 reviews
2016 reviews
2015 reviews

Anathema – Internal Landscapes
Samskaras – Lithification
Seventh Dimension – The Corrupted Lullaby
Hate Eternal – Upon Desolate Sands
Witherfall – A Prelude To Sorrow
Northward – Northward
Seventh Wonder – Tiara
Warrel Dane – Shadow Work
Haken – Vector
Beyond Creation – Algorythm
Ultha – The Inextricable Wandering
Amaranthe – Helix
Ghost Ship Octavius – Delirium
Decembre Noir – Autumn Kings
The Odious Construct – Shrine of the Obscene
Fauna Timbre – Altering Echoes
The Moor – Jupiter’s Immigrants
Revocation – The Outer Ones
Riverside – Wasteland
Ethernity – The Human Race Extinction
Dynazty – Firesign
Deicide – Overtures of Blasphemy
Brainstorm – Midnight Ghost
Krisiun – Scourge of the Enthroned
Kingcrow – The Persistence
Cast The Stone – Empyrean Atrophy
Omnium Gatherum – The Burning Cold
Helion Prime – Terror of the Cybernetic Space Monster
Madder Mortem – Marrow
A Dying Planet – Facing The Incurable
Árstíðir – Nivalis
Mob Rules – Beast Reborn
The Spirit – Sounds From The Vortex
Aethereus – Absentia
Unanimated – Annihilation
Manticora – To Kill To Live To Kill
Rivers of Nihil – Where Owls Know My Name
Halcyon Way – Bloody But Unbowed
Michael Romeo – War Of The Worlds, Part 1
Redemption – Long Night’s Journey Into Day
Distorted Harmony – A Way Out
Tomorrow’s Eve – Mirror of Creation III – Project Ikaros
Atrocity – Okkult II
Lux Terminus – The Courage To Be
Kataklysm – Meditations
Marduk – Viktoria
Midas Fall – Evaporate
The Sea Within – The Sea Within
Haken – L-1VE
Follow The Cipher – Follow The Cipher
Spock’s Beard – Noise Floor
Ihsahn – Amr
The Fierce And The Dead – The Euphoric
Millennial Reign – The Great Divide
Subsignal – La Muerta
At The Gates – To Drink From The Night Itself
Dimmu Borgir – Eonian
Hekz – Invicta
Widow’s Peak – Graceless EP
Ivar Bjørnson and Einar Selvik – Hugsjá
Frequency Drift – Letters to Maro
Æpoch – Awakening Inception
Crematory – Oblivion
Wallachia – Monumental Heresy
Skeletal Remains – Devouring Mortality
MØL – Jord
Aesthesys – Achromata
Kamelot – The Shadow Theory
Barren Earth – A Complex of Cages
Memoriam – The Silent Vigil
Kino – Radio Voltaire
Borealis – The Offering
W.E.T. – Earthrage
Auri – Auri
Purest of Pain – Solipsis
Susperia – The Lyricist
Structural Disorder – …And The Cage Crumbles In the Final Scene
Necrophobic – Mark of the Necrogram
Divine Realm – Nordicity
Oceans of Slumber – The Banished Heart
Poem – Unique
Gleb Kolyadin – Gleb Kolyadin
Apathy Noir – Black Soil
Deathwhite – For A Black Tomorrow
Conjurer – Mire
Jukub Zytecki – Feather Bed/Ladder Head
Lione/Conti – Lione/Conti
Usurpress – Interregnum
Kælling – Lacuna
Vinide – Reveal
Armored Dawn – Barbarians In Black
Long Distance Calling – Boundless
In Vain – Currents
Harakiri For The Sky – Arson
Orphaned Land – Unsung Prophets And Dead Messiahs
Tribulation – Down Below
Machine Head – Catharsis
Bjorn Riis – Coming Home EP
Twilight’s Embrace – Penance EP
Bloodshot Dawn – Reanimation
Rise of Avernus – Eigengrau
Arch Echo – Arch Echo
Asenblut – Legenden
Bleeding Gods – Dodekathlon
Watain – Trident Wolf Eclipse


We don’t spam! Read our
manofmuchmetal.net/home/privacy-policy-2/ for more info.