Artist: Perduratum

Album Title: Exile’s Anthology

Label: Independent Release

Date of Release: 10 October 2020

Now here’s a nice little find for those of us who have a penchant for progressive metal. That find comes in the form of Perduratum, a Mexican quintet who came to life last year and who bring us their debut studio release. Entitled ‘Exile’s Anthology’, this is a four track EP that offers us an insight into the musical vision of Perduratum.

The first thing to say is that this isn’t an EP that will blow you away if you’re looking for originality. The biography is awash with information about the musicians’ influences, and there are no prizes for guessing that members of Dream Theater, Haken, Pagan’s Mind, and Distorted Harmony feature most prevalently. You see, the four tracks here are a blend of the more ‘classic’ style of progressive metal, alongside a solid dose of the more modern ‘djent’-infused prog. As such, it doesn’t contain much in terms of surprises or forays into leftfield. But, what the four songs do demonstrate is a band with some talent and, if they are able to grow and discover their own true identity, they could be a big name in the scene in years to come.

Out of the blocks first comes ‘Anachrony’ and I have to say that, for an intro it is utterly beautiful. The piano melody and building synth atmospherics around it are stunning. In a way, I actually wish the intro could have been longer and perhaps developed into a proper track. But instead, it is replaced with ‘Asumption’ that flies out of the blocks with real energy and enthusiasm. Big, chunky riffs battle with layers of synths from Edgar Butanda to create a big sound, whilst there is clear evidence of significant technical ability thanks to some of the flourishes that appear. The melodies are pleasant, and it is really nice to hear the bass rumble of Ahijado with some clarity.

As with much prog music, the vocalist is likely to make or break the music for you. Diego Cholula has a higher-pitched voice that can be a little much at the very top end. However, his ability and delivery is generally good, not letting the heavy material down.

‘Abyss’ Anatomy’ is where the real djent influences come to the fore, evidenced from the very beginning within what is a very busy affair. I think it has much to do with the production, but there’s a lot going on within the composition, so it needs a few spins to see the wood for the trees, so to speak. Occasionally, Cholula gets a little lost within the instrumentalism but nevertheless, there is some really nice melody to be heard, and the song does work, benefitting from a pronounced break from the heaviness at the mid-way mark. Some of the lead guitar work from James Ponce is incredible on this track, too, but I could have done without the break-down in the latter part of the track.

And finally, on what is a brief 20-minute affair, we’re left with ‘A Misunderstanding’. The afore-mentioned influences liberally litter the track, right from the start, and I find myself picking out moments that remind me of this band, or that. However, it would take a brave person to suggest that the track isn’t enjoyable in spite of this. It features some of the best melodies on the EP, arguably the best all-round performances, including from drummer Aruh.

Ok, so ‘Exile’s Anthology’ isn’t going to change the world, but it is early days for a band that clearly has the talent and desire to succeed at a high level within prog circles. If the band continues to work hard on their craft and can carve out a niche for themselves through a touch more originality, there’s no reason Perduratum can’t have the success that they seek. Worth checking out.

The Score of Much Metal: 79%

Check out my reviews from 2020 right here:

Carcass – Despicable EP

Mors Principium Est – Seven

Cult Of Lilith – Mara

Helion Prime – Question Everything

Soul Secret – Blue Light Cage

Enslaved – Utgard

Dynfari – Myrkurs er þörf

Amaranthe – Manifest

Kataklysm – Unconquered

Structural Disorder – Kingdom Crossing

Skeletal Remains – The Entombment Of Chaos

Prehistoric Animals – The Magical Mystery Machine (Chapter One)

Ihsahn – Pharos

Hinayana – Death Of The Cosmic
Oceans Of Slumber – Oceans Of Slumber
Okyr – Premorbid Intelligence
Manticora – To Live To Kill To Live
Pain Of Salvation – Panther
Vanishing Point – Dead Elysium
Unleash The Archers – Abyss
Veonity – Sorrows
Nyktophobia – What Lasts Forever
Ages – Uncrown
Awake By Design – Awake By Design
Black Crown Initiate – Violent Portraits Of Doomed Escape
Gaerea – Limbo
Buried Realm – Embodiment Of The Divine
Navian – Reset
Selenseas – The Outer Limits
Quantum – The Next Breath Of Air
Ensiferum – Thalassic
Long Distance Calling – How Do We Want To Live?
Airbag – A Day At The Beach
Re-Armed – Ignis Aeternum
Atavist – III: Absolution
Frost* – Others EP
Darker Half – If You Only Knew
Atavistia – The Winter Way
Astralborne – Eternity’s End
Centinex – Death In Pieces
Haken – Virus
Pile Of Priests – Pile Of Priests
Sorcerer – Lamenting Of The Innocent
Lesoir – Mosaic
Temnein – Tales: Of Humanity And Greed
Caligula’s Horse – Rise Radiant
…And Oceans – Cosmic World Mother
Vader – Solitude In Madness
Shrapnel – Palace For The Insane
Sinisthra – The Broad And Beaten Way
Paradise Lost – Obsidian
Naglfar – Cerecloth
Forgotten Tomb – Nihilistic Estrangement
Winterfylleth – The Reckoning Dawn
Firewind – Firewind
An Autumn For Crippled Children – All Fell Silent, Everything Went Quiet
Havok – V
Helfró – Helfró
Victoria K – Essentia
Cryptex – Once Upon A Time
Thy Despair – The Song Of Desolation
Cirith Ungol – Forever Black
Igorrr – Spirituality and Distortion
Nightwish – Human. II: Nature.
Katatonia – City Burials
Wolfheart – Wolves Of Karelia
Asenblut – Die Wilde Jagd
Nicumo – Inertia
The Black Dahlia Murder – Verminous
Omega Infinity – Solar Spectre
Symbolik – Emergence
Pure Reason Revolution – Eupnea
Irist – Order Of The Mind
Testament – Titans Of Creation
Ilium – Carcinogeist
Dawn Of Ouroboros – The Art Of Morphology
Torchia – The Coven
Novena – Eleventh Hour
Ashes Of Life – Seasons Within
Dynazty – The Dark Delight
Sutrah – Aletheia EP
Welicoruss – Siberian Heathen Horde
Myth Of I – Myth Of I
My Dying Bride – The Ghost Of Orion
Infirmum – Walls Of Sorrow
Inno – The Rain Under
Kvaen – The Funeral Pyre
Mindtech – Omnipresence
Dark Fortress – Spectres From The Old World
The Oneira – Injection
Night Crowned – Impius Viam
Dead Serenity – Beginnings EP
The Night Flight Orchestra – Aeromantic
Deadrisen – Deadrisen
Blaze Of Perdition – The Harrowing Of Hearts
Godsticks – Inescapable
Isle Of The Cross – Excelsis
Demons & Wizards – III
Vredehammer – Viperous
H.E.A.T – H.E.A.T II
Psychotic Waltz – The God-Shaped Void
Into The Open – Destination Eternity
Lunarsea – Earthling/Terrestre
Pure Wrath – The Forlorn Soldier EP
Sylosis – Cycle of Suffering
Sepultura – Quadra
Dyscordia – Delete / Rewrite
Godthrymm – Reflections
On Thorns I Lay – Threnos
God Dethroned – Illuminati
Fragment Soul – A Soul Inhabiting Two Bodies
Mariana Semkina – Sleepwalking
Mini Album Reviews: Moloken, The Driftwood Sign & Midnight
Serenity – The Last Knight
Ihsahn – Telemark EP
Temperance – Viridian
Blasphemer – The Sixth Hour
Deathwhite – Grave Image
Marko Hietala – Pyre Of The Black Heart
SWMM – Trail Of The Fallen
Into Pandemonium – Darkest Rise EP
Bonded – Rest In Violence
Serious Black – Suite 226
Darktribe – Voici L’Homme
Brothers Of Metal – Emblas Saga
A Life Divided – Echoes
Thoughts Factory – Elements

You can also check out my other reviews from previous years right here:

2019 reviews
2018 reviews
2017 reviews
2016 reviews
2015 reviews


We don’t spam! Read our for more info.