Sunburst artwork

Artist: Sunburst

Album Title: Fragments Of Creation

Label: Inner Wound Recordings

Date Of Release: 26 February 2016

If you’re familiar with the names of Black Fate or Paradox, then the clientele behind Sunburst will not be a revelation to you. Why? Because ‘Fragments Of Creation’ is the debut album by the duo behind those aforementioned bands, namely guitarist Gus Drax and vocalist Vasilis Georgiou. I must admit that, thanks to the curse of the ‘too much music, too little time’ syndrome, both Black Fate and Paradox have thus far eluded me. However, if the standard on this record is a barometer of the quality across the board for this duo, I think I’d better make time.

If you’ve ever laid awake at night and wondered how a slightly lighter Nevermore would sound blended with Kamelot, then prepare to lose sleep no longer. Add in a healthy dose of European power metal melody as well as plenty of dextrous, blazing guitar solos, licks and embellishments and the Sunburst recipe is pretty much complete. And I have to admit that it’s an intoxicating recipe. Whether or not this unmitigated blast of heavy metal ear candy can hold the attention of listeners over the longer term remains to be seen, but for now, all I can say is that I’m impressed and entertained.

Sunburst may have been created by the Greek duo but drummer Kostas Milonas and bassist Nick Grey play their parts ably in helping to shape the way this band sounds, creating a solid foundation upon which all else sits. A strong, and clear production assists the Sunburst cause as well, meaning that all the fundamentals are present and correct.

Sunburst promo pic 4

The album wastes absolutely no time in getting going either. ‘Out Of The World’ erupts from the speakers with the kind of down-tuned thrash-inspired swirling, chugging riff that Nevermore would be proud of. It’s slick, deft and gets the blood pumping in a proper statement of intent. If anything, the hook-laden and anthemic chorus is even better, begging to be sung along with from the first spin. Naturally, from Drax, a guitarist tutored by Ioannis Anastassakis, there’s room for a great solo before the track draws to a close.

On top of all this, Georgiou’s vocals can’t fail to catch the ear and I actually found myself double-checking the press release to ensure that it wasn’t ex-Kamelot vocalist Roy Khan behind the mic. Georgiou is an extremely competent singer in his own right but there’s no denying the similarities; the tones and phrasings frequently call to mind the Norwegian which, in my opinion isn’t a bad thing as I miss Khan at the head of Kamelot.

To be honest, ‘Fragments Of Creation’ isn’t the most varied of records and so the tone set on the opening composition is by and large continued throughout the remaining nine songs. As such, big, muscular riffs, barnstorming choruses and plenty of lead six-string action are the order of the day for nigh-on an hour. And you know what? I dig it. But then, what’s not to like? This is the kind of music that plants a great big smile of your face and makes you feel good. The vitality, the power and the sense of unabashed fun shines through each song, making it a real joy to listen to.

And the fact that the album is so consistent from start to finish simply underlines the quality of the song writing on offer from Georgiou and Drax. The guys know what they are doing and they do it very well.

‘Dementia’ is ushered in on a modern-sounding synth-derived effect before giving way to a catchy and expressive lead guitar melody and an even more memorable chorus. ‘Symbol Of Life’ is a killer track that’s dominated by a lightning fast lead guitar lick atop a deep down-tuned riff and topped off by arguably the best chorus on the record.

The pace is momentarily slowed via the ballad ‘Lullaby’ which is pure Kamelot at their very best before ‘End Of The Game’ reintroduces a little more thrash-inspired edginess. Then there’s the vaguely AOR-tinged leanings of Forevermore’ and the instrumental ‘Beyond The Darkest Sun’, which allows Georgiou to take a break and allows Drax’s guitar to sing with fantastic results.

The only true curveball is then delivered by ‘Remedy Of My Heart’ which closes the album in grandiose fashion. At over 12 minutes, it is by far the longest song and it’s also the most ambitious, mixing the usual melodic metal output with lashings of dramatic, cinematic pomposity.

As I said before, I worry about the longevity of the album. But that small concern aside, there’s very little else to quibble about. ‘Fragments Of Creation’ is a whole lot of fun but more than that, it is fun wrapped up in ten melodic heavy metal anthems. Super.

The Score Of Much Metal: 8.0


If you’ve enjoyed this review, check out my others right here:

Inglorious – Inglorious
Omnium Gatherum – Grey Heavens
Structural Disorder – Distance
Votum – Ktonik
Fleshgod Apocalypse – King
Rikard Sjoblom – The Unbendable Sleep
Textures – Phenotype
Serenity – Codex Atlanticus
Borknagar – Winter Thrice
The Mute Gods – Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me
Brainstorm – Scary Creatures
Arcade Messiah – II
Phantasma – The Deviant Hearts
Rendezvous Point – Solar Storm
Vanden Plas – Chronicles Of The Immortals: Netherworld II
Antimatter – The Judas Table
Bauda – Sporelights
Waken Eyes – Exodus
Earthside – A Dream In Static
Caligula’s Horse – Bloom
Teramaze – Her Halo
Amorphis – Under The Red Cloud
Spock’s Beard – The Oblivion Particle
Agent Fresco – Destrier
Cattle Decapitation – The Anthropocene Extinction
Between The Buried And Me – Coma Ecliptic
Cradle Of Filth – Hammer Of The Witches
Disarmonia Mundi – Cold Inferno
District 97 – In Vaults
Progoctopus – Transcendence
Big Big Train – Wassail
NightMare World – In The Fullness Of Time
Helloween – My God-Given Right
Triaxis – Zero Hour
Isurus – Logocharya
Arcturus – Arcturian
Kamelot – Haven
Native Construct – Quiet World
Sigh – Graveward
Pantommind – Searching For Eternity
Subterranean Masquerade – The Great Bazaar
Klone – Here Comes The Sun
The Gentle Storm – The Diary
Melechesh – Enki
Enslaved – In Times
Keep Of Kalessin – Epistemology
Lonely Robot – Please Come Home
The Neal Morse Band – The Grand Experiment
Zero Stroke – As The Colours Seep
AudioPlastik – In The Head Of A Maniac
Revolution Saints – Revolution Saints
Mors Principium Est – Dawn of The 5th Era
Arcade Messiah – Arcade Messiah
Triosphere – The Heart Of The Matter
Neonfly – Strangers In Paradise
Knight Area – Hyperdrive
Haken – Restoration
James LaBrie – Impermanent Resonance
Mercenary – Through Our Darkest Days
A.C.T. – Circus Pandemonium
Xerath – III
Big Big Train – English Electric (Part 1)
Thought Chamber – Psykerion
Marcus Jidell – Pictures From A Time Traveller
H.E.A.T – Tearing Down The Walls
Vanden Plas – Chronicles Of The Immortals: Netherworld


We don’t spam! Read our for more info.