Skip to Content

Tag Archives: EP review

Abysmal Dawn – Nightmare Frontier – EP Review

Artist: Abysmal Dawn Album Title: Nightmare Frontier EP Label: Season Of Mist Date of Release:  4 February 2022 It seems that I’ve been slow on the uptake again. Forming nearly twenty years ago, Californian death metal band Abysmal Dawn have released five full-length albums and I’m unable to say that I’ve heard any of them.  Continue Reading »

Ilium – Quantum Evolution Event – EP Review

Artist: Ilium Album Title: Quantum Evolution Event EP Label: Independent Release Date of Release: 14 January 2021 At the beginning of 2020, I reviewed the eighth album from Australian melodic power metal band Ilium and was really rather taken with it. It made me question the fairness of the music industry too, because to me,  Continue Reading »

Insomnium – Argent Moon – EP Review

Artist: Insomnium Album Title: Argent Moon EP Label: Century Media Records Date of Release: 17 September 2021 I find it quite amusing that neither of my favourite two melodic death metal bands at the current time hail from Sweden. After all, it was the Swedes that invented the genre. But no. Both Omnium Gatherum and  Continue Reading »

Awake By Design – Unfaded – EP Review

Artist: Awake By Design Album Title: Unfaded Label: Independent Release Date of Release: 29 October 2021 UK melodic metal band Awake By Design impressed me last year with their self-titled third full length studio release, offering a heavy and satisfying slab of memorable music in the process. As such, it was a no-brainer when I  Continue Reading »

Enslaved – Caravans To The Outer Worlds – EP Review

Artist: Enslaved Album Title: Caravans To The Outer Worlds Label: Nuclear Blast Records Date of Release: 1 October 2021 I have a thoroughly odd relationship with Enslaved. I like the band, and I respect them highly for everything that they have achieved over the years, starting out as a straight-up black metal band, but slowly,  Continue Reading »

The Circle – Metamorphosis – EP Review

Artist: The Circle  Album Title: Metamorphosis  Label: Independent Release  Date of Release: 23 April 2021  Another of my magical evenings spent searching for new music has come up trumps yet again. Without trawling my inbox, Bandcamp, YouTube, my Haulix account and other corners of the Internet, I would never have come across The Circle. And had I not, my life would  Continue Reading »

Nordjevel – Fenriir – EP Review

Artist: Nordjevel  Album Title: Fenriir EP  Label: Indie Recordings  Date of Release: 7 May 2021  This is my first taste of Nordjevel, and what better way to make my acquaintance than with their latest offering, a five-track EP entitled ‘Fenriir’. Only knowing that Nordjevel are a Norwegian black metal band, I didn’t really know what to expect when pressing play for  Continue Reading »

Hideous Divinity – LV-426 – EP Review

Artist: Hideous Divinity Album Title: LV-426 Label: Century Media Records Date of Release: 23 April 2021 If ever there was a way for a band to ingratiate themselves with me, it would not be to create an EP based on the ‘Alien’ films. I watched these at university with mates who assured me that these  Continue Reading »

Bodom After Midnight – Paint The Sky With Blood – EP Review

Artist: Bodom After Midnight Album Title: Paint The Sky With Blood Label: Napalm Records Date of Release: 23 April 2021 My history with Children Of Bodom was an interesting one. I discovered the band when I came across a promo copy of ‘Follow The Reaper’ on sale at a long-defunct record shop in Colchester. I  Continue Reading »

Temperance – Melodies Of Green And Blue – EP Review

Artist: Temperance Album Title: Melodies Of Green And Blue Label: Napalm Records Date of Release: 19 February 2021 I’m normally one of those cynics when it comes to releases like this. An acoustic EP, largely comprised of re-recorded songs from a previous album. These records smack a little of cashing in on the loyal fan  Continue Reading »

All written content, opinions, reviews and interviews published on this website are created by Matt Spall

Artwork design by: Mattias Norén

Website design by: The Imagineering Suite © 2022